CATEGORIES
HALAL / KOSHER

Kosher is a process of food production that adheres to dietary guidelines set forth in the Bible and clarified over the centuries by rabbinic authorities in Jewish law.

To those who observe kosher, its concepts also offer reminders of lessons in kindness and sensitivity to animals, attention to detail in everyday matters, self-control, and thinking before acting.

They guide how foods are chosen and processed, the quality and integrity of the ingredients, and the security of food prep areas, to ensure that the status of the food and equipment is never compromised. Kosher means “fit” or “proper”– a concept associated with cleanliness, purity and extra supervision.

Kosher food is by nature more controlled than many other means of food production.

 

IS HALAL THE SAME AS KOSHER?

The major difference is that Kosher pertains strictly to Jewish dietary matters, while Halal goes beyond dietary laws. In terms of dietary laws, Halal forbids all alcohol consumption, while Kosher allows the consumption of alcohols that are certified to be Kosher.

Some seafood such as shellfish that has lived its entire life in the water is allowed in Halal, while shellfish is forbidden in Kosher.

 

Powered by Passepartout